Wyden blasts FERC nominees

U.S. Sen. Ron Wyden, D-Ore., voted against President Donald Trump’s two nominees to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission on Tuesday, joining Sens. Bernie Sanders, I-Vt., and Mazie Hirono D-Hawaii, as the only dissenting votes.

The senior Democrat for the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee said he came to his decision after nominees Neil Chatterjee and Robert Powelson “failed to commit to avoiding political interference from the White House or to protecting the interests of local residents in making decisions about future energy projects.”

Source: Wyden blasts FERC nominees | Business | theworldlink.com